The Tigers Are Out

by

I hope to provide more detailed coverage of my time in Rotterdam, which has gone very well so far. The last few nights I’ve been spending time with the filmmaking team behind Albert Serra’s QUIXOTIC and BIRD SONG (serra included). There’s some good stories there but I don’t have too much time right now.

In the meantime I come to you with a little bit of gossip that’s been on the toungues of many around these parts. Yesterday Variety letgo 30 of its staff, an additional sign of the decay and decline of the newpaper industry, which seems to have also started penetrating the blogosphere. The news came in a message I received from Michale Jones who runs, or rather used to run, The Variety Circuit, a festival blog maintained by Variety. He also fell victim to these recent layoffs. Oddly enough,  in my inbox there was also a message from Josh Feit, whose RECENTLY launcehed Publicola, an online guide to everything Washington, detailed an account of The Seattle Times who is prepared for a possible Chapter 11 filings. Too much grim news… I’m headed back into the films. When I emerge, I’ll give you a more complete picture of what’s going on here.

Tags: ,


