That Other Film Festival


For those Seattlites who care to know what the results were of the recently completed Cannes, here’s a report from IFC Daily’s David Hudson. Hopefully some of the award winners will make there way stateside in the next 12 months.

And the Palme d’Or goes to Michael Haneke‘s “The White Ribbon.”

The Jury, presided over by Isabelle Huppert (other members: Asia Argento, Nuri Bilge Ceylan, James Gray, Hanif Kureishi, Lee Chang-dong, Shu Qi, Sharmila Tagore and Robin Wright Penn) have also presented the following awards:

A Special Jury Prize to Alain Resnais (“Wild Grass“).

The Grand Prix (basically the runner-up award): “A Prophet” (Jacques Audiard).

Prix de la Mise en Scene (best director): Brillante Mendoza for “Kinatay.”

Prix du Scenario (best screenplay): Feng Mei for Lou Ye‘s “Spring Fever.”

Camera d’Or (best first feature): Warwick Thornton for “Samson and Delilah.” Special mention: Scandar Copti for “Ajami.”

Prix du Jury: “Fish Tank” (Andrea Arnold) andThirst” (Park Chan-wook).

Prix d’interpretation feminine (best actress): Charlotte Gainsbourg for her performance in “Antichrist.”

Prix d’interpretation masculine (best actor): Christoph Waltz for his performance in “Inglourious Basterds.”

Palme d’Or (short film): Joao Salaviza‘s “Arena.”

As John Hopewell reports for Variety, FIPRESCI, the International Federation of Film Critics, has bestowed awards on one film from each of three sections (well, four, but just three awards). From the Competition: Michael Haneke‘s “The White Ribbon“; from Un Certain Regard: Corneliu Porumboiu‘s “Police, Adjective“; and from Directors’ Fortnight / Critics’ Week: Cherien Dabis‘s “Amreeka.”

More awards: Un Certain Regard; awards and final roundups: Directors’ Fortnight and Critics’ Week.


Tags: ,

%d bloggers like this: