Top 10 Movie Moments at the Film Forum in 2010

by

1. Rebel Without a Cause with screenwriter Stewart Stern in attendance. The man can talk for hours, but admit it – we’d all listen for hours.  Besides, it never gets old hearing casual references to “Uncle Adolph.”

2. The Red Shoes. Great lines (“I don’t know if it’s my greatest ambition to write for the ba-lay!”), and hopefully you were at the screening with editor Thelma Schoonmaker’s personal copy of the restoration process was shown – incredible.

3. The Red Riding Trilogy.  Dark, creepy and oh-so-British. I’m doubtful this will survive the American remake.

4. Wild River. Wow – this was Hollywood!  This really should be a classic.  At the very least, it should have been a great shared viewing experience by environmentalists and libertarians.

5. Women Without Men.  Film meets magical realism and literature. Just right.

6. The Bike-In. (Ok, this was technically at Cal Anderson Park.) Believe it or not, I had never seen Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure before.  My mind was blown.

7. Wheedle’s Groove. Pick your night!  I happened to be there with Sir Mix-A-Lot, but I can’t imagine a dull night with that cast of characters.

8. I am Secretly an Important Man (Opening night of Local Sightings at the Moore Theatre).  A who’s-who of local luminaries on the screen and in the audience.  They laughed, they cried.  You may have had to be there.

9. Enter the Void. The movie was an experience…that I might not want to have again.  But when I actually laughed out lout at the audacity of the credits up there on the big screen, I knew I was in for a ride.

10. Condo Millenium.  A neat snapshot of the city at that exact moment. I called it the “Vagina monologues for condos.” People who were there will surely be referencing it and trying to describe it to those who weren’t for years to come.

