Posts Tagged ‘Cannes’

Apichatpong wins Cannes biggest prize

May 24, 2010

Cannes film festival live: Apichatpong Weerasethakul wins the Palme d’Or

• Thai director Apichatpong Weerasethakul wins top prize at Cannes with Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives
• Grand Prix goes to Des Hommes et des Deux
• Mathieu Amalric wins best director
• Juliette Binoche wins best actress
• Jarvier Bardem and Elio Germano share best actor
• Mike Leigh and Ken Loach go home empty handed

Read more here

Longhouse Media’s Tracy Rector’s film accepted into Cannes

April 15, 2010

Congrats go out to Longhouse Media Executive Director Tracy Rector.  Her short film UNRESERVED: THE WORK OF LOUIE GONG is on its way to Cannes!

That Other Film Festival

May 25, 2009

For those Seattlites who care to know what the results were of the recently completed Cannes, here’s a report from IFC Daily’s David Hudson. Hopefully some of the award winners will make there way stateside in the next 12 months.

And the Palme d’Or goes to Michael Haneke‘s “The White Ribbon.”

The Jury, presided over by Isabelle Huppert (other members: Asia Argento, Nuri Bilge Ceylan, James Gray, Hanif Kureishi, Lee Chang-dong, Shu Qi, Sharmila Tagore and Robin Wright Penn) have also presented the following awards:

A Special Jury Prize to Alain Resnais (“Wild Grass“).

The Grand Prix (basically the runner-up award): “A Prophet” (Jacques Audiard).

Prix de la Mise en Scene (best director): Brillante Mendoza for “Kinatay.”

Prix du Scenario (best screenplay): Feng Mei for Lou Ye‘s “Spring Fever.”

Camera d’Or (best first feature): Warwick Thornton for “Samson and Delilah.” Special mention: Scandar Copti for “Ajami.”

Prix du Jury: “Fish Tank” (Andrea Arnold) andThirst” (Park Chan-wook).

Prix d’interpretation feminine (best actress): Charlotte Gainsbourg for her performance in “Antichrist.”

Prix d’interpretation masculine (best actor): Christoph Waltz for his performance in “Inglourious Basterds.”

Palme d’Or (short film): Joao Salaviza‘s “Arena.”

As John Hopewell reports for Variety, FIPRESCI, the International Federation of Film Critics, has bestowed awards on one film from each of three sections (well, four, but just three awards). From the Competition: Michael Haneke‘s “The White Ribbon“; from Un Certain Regard: Corneliu Porumboiu‘s “Police, Adjective“; and from Directors’ Fortnight / Critics’ Week: Cherien Dabis‘s “Amreeka.”

More awards: Un Certain Regard; awards and final roundups: Directors’ Fortnight and Critics’ Week.

Cannes Line-Up Announced

April 23, 2008

The competition section alone shows promise for a great year in cinema. The films I’m excited for are in italics.

Here’s The Competition:
Nuri Bilge Ceylan: Three Monkeys.
Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne: Le Silence De Lorna.
Arnaud Desplechin: A Christmas Story.
Clint Eastwood: Changeling.
Atom Egoyan: Adoration.
Ari Folman: Waltz With Bashir.
Philippe Garrel: La Frontière de l’aube.
Matteo Garrone: Gomorra.
Charlie Kaufman: Synecdoche, New York.
Eric Khoo: My Magic.
Lucrecia Martel: La Mujer Sin Cabeza.
Brillante Mendoza: Serbis.
Kornél Mundruczó: Delta.
Walter Salles: Linha De Passe.
Paolo Sorrentino: Il Divo.
Pablo Trapero: Leonera.
Wim Wenders: The Palermo Shooting.
Jia Zhangke: 24 City.
Steven Soderbergh: Che (comprised of Guerrilla and The Argentine).